mid-century house plans.

i love home plans. i used to look at them all the time when i was a little kid. strange hobby, i know, but i’m an only child, so what do you expect?

over the years i’ve collected some of these. some of them are in magazines. i have a giant collection of better homes and gardens from the 1950’s…in fact, i may almost have them for all of the 50’s. my favorite house is from the october issue in 1958.

this house was so awesome. i always wanted to build it and live in it…but i thought that it was lacking a pool. see the below images.

it has a porch that goes around the whole perimeter.

a view from the back side into the living room. i love the open floor plan. the architect designed this for his family to live in. in just 1800 sqare feet there are 4 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. the kitchen is in the center. the bedrooms are on each of the 4 corners, and the bathrooms are in between them.

the kitchen is in the middle of the home and quite open. i like this a lot.

here is the actual floor plan for other people who actually like to look at them…i’m sure there are few. notice the four ‘C’s by the entry? those are closets. they were elevated from the floor at the bottom, which was somewhat common in the 50’s. this was so that dust didn’t invade the bottom of the closet.

don’t you think this would look great in portland?…or on a large enough lot somewhere nearby? it could make someone a great beach house.

About iheartlivinginportlandoregon

i'm julie thompson, and i live in portland, oregon. this city has so much to offer and so many places to explore. i enjoy highlighting some of these places here on my blog.
This entry was posted in home is where the heart is. and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to mid-century house plans.

  1. emily says:

    I always loved looking at house plans in the newspaper on Sundays. I have not done that in a while since I don’t take the paper. It is cool to see how houses are built. That’s why I like going to open houses… I am nosy, I guess. Or better yet, curious. he he. I think I have the original blueprints for my house. A lot of older homes in our area either have the sketch of the house or the blue prints stuck in a closet. I love that older people loved to keep records of things.

  2. i had forgotten about those in the newspaper.

    the blueprints in closets thing is super duper cute.

  3. Nichole LA says:

    That is an amazing layout. Everyone comes together for delicious things in the center- perfect!

  4. robin says:

    Hi! I loved your house tour on apartment therapy! I posted a comment there hoping to see if you ever found your paint color names..but I never heard back! Any chance? I love the grey?

  5. Charles says:

    Hi, great post. Love the plan. We are currently re-doing a 1955 or so modern ranch. A neighbor told us the plans came from an old issue of Better Homes and Gardens magazine. Would you mind if i sent you a few photos to see if you might have the floor plan? Thanks, Charles

  6. Your style is unique in comparison to other folks I have read stuff from.
    Thank you for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I’ll just book mark this site.

  7. Ellie Mae says:

    I always loved house designs (particularly mid century modern!) and going to open houses. My addictive past time on the weekends is looking at houses online, though I seldom see anything that grabs my attention, and when it does, its usually a home that was built in the 50’s or early 60’s! The particular design that you showcase here is my IDEAL dream house! Now to get a job to PAY for it!! : )

Leave a Reply

